Editor’s Note, aka Discovering the Knishwich

If this blog project really is my own personal marathon (as I state on my “About” page), and I believe it is, I hit the proverbial wall this weekend.

For the first time since launching the BLD Project, I found myself utterly fatigued from the constant writing and the constant planning and the constant frustrations with my technology and the constant running out of time and the constant lack of resources (which means all the great ideas I have for making this blog endeavor that much better are constantly being put off). I just couldn’t do it.

My crisis culminated at dinner last night, at Lansky’s, a classic “Jewish deli” in really gorgeous digs — the fleur de lys pattern that runs across the top of their website is the same sumptuous, vaguely Deco pattern as the wallpaper that sets the tone of their dining room, which is stunning, in an almost head-spinning way. 

From the specialty sandwiches menu I ordered something I’ve never heard of, but I truly believe is destined for greatness (a quick Google search reveals it’s popping up on occasion, but infrequently, so far). The “knishwich” begins with a soft, fluffy potato knish (sort of like a baked mashed potato pocket), halved, and topped with corned beef, pastrami, thousand island dressing, coleslaw and melted Munster cheese. 

Oh. My. God. Heaven in a bite. And as I’m sitting there, assessing the lighting and debating in my head whether to pull out my iPhone and take a few pictures, or not — I already had great pictures from my spin on the traditional English breakfast (or “fry,” if you prefer) from Saturday morning, which I hadn’t (haven’t) yet blogged about, but since I only need one blog per day on weekends, I still could (didn’t) blog about breakfast later — my friend’s wife pulls out her awesome camera and begins snapping photos of their food for her food and lifestyle blog. 

I’ve seen her blog; PlayingHouseBlog is a fantastic idea, with a great custom-template design, and she takes fantastic food photos, like the good, close-up, drool-worthy kind. Not the shitty, blurry, iPhone kind. Needless to say, I didn’t take any pictures. (I’ll post a link here to Amy’s post on Lansky’s once it’s up.)

Knishwich leftovers

Knishwich leftovers

All of which is to say, at this two-month mark of my own little fledgling project, I’ve got a lot to think about. In no way am I quitting or even slowing down the pace, but I’ve got to find a way to break through the wall. Any and all feedback is welcome.  

Tip: The Coney Island Knishwich, as it’s called at Lansky’s, is absolutely perfect on its own. But have fun, vary your bites (it’s knife-and-fork food) by spearing a slice of sour pickle, or swabbing a bit in the spicy mustard that comes as a tabletop condiment. 

1 Response to “Editor’s Note, aka Discovering the Knishwich”


  1. 1 Amy I. May 28, 2009 at 2:39 am

    Yay, Andy just sent me a link to your blog! It was great to see you last weekend. Can’t wait to read about your adventures in eating. Adding you to my blogroll now :)


Leave a Reply

Follow BLD Project on Twitter:

sort posts by category

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

What I’ve Been Eating

RSS What I’ve Been Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Feedbag

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

sort by category


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

